Ayurveda Basics – What are Doshas?

What are doshas? Think of dosha as a bio-energy center.

Each person has a unique blueprint. This unique blueprint describes your unique personality, tendencies, and physical nature.

Understanding your dosha make-up reveals how to keep yourself in balance to stay happy and happy in mind, body, soul.

So getting back to this unique fingerprint — it is comprised through the five basic elements: space, air, fire, water and earth.

These five elements combine into three bio-energy centers, dosha.

Doshas are present, in varying degrees, in everything and everybody.

Determining the balance of these doshas within your body IS your unique blueprint. Step 1 is understanding your unique blueprint.

Then you can determine the right strategies to implement to balance your mind, body and soul AND keep them balanced. This balance is the key to health and happiness.

The three doshas are:

Pitta: combination of fire and water; energy of digestion and metabolism

Vata: combination of space and air; energy of movement

Kapha: combination of water and earth; energy of lubrication and structure

Again, all people have all of these three doshas, but one of them is usually primary, one secondary and the third least prominent.

This particular combination of energy within you shows you the combination of physical, mental and emotional characteristics within you.

The goal is maintaining this proportion of balance.

Want to understand more about each dosha to understand how it signifies your physical, mental and emotional characteristics? Read the next several blog entries – we will cover each dosha in detail!

FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *